Yesterday I learned that..

Shrinky Dinks should be heated in a well ventilated area.

I remember being a three year old Krissy and my mom had bought me a Shrinky Dink Christmas ornament kit. That was the year we baked gingerbread men and I used Red Hots for their little hearts; It was also the last year my sister was with us. I remember it fondly and I’ve kept those ornaments, they’ve been on my Christmas tree ever since. It wasn’t until a few months ago that I saw packs of Shrinky Dink plastic at my local Michaels and yesterday I stopped in there on my way home from school equipped with a 40% off coupon to snag some.
I have to say, I didn’t have the best luck there ever was. I know they’re supposed to curl and then magically flatten out… but they did not magically flatten out. I tried melting them longer, and they melted right onto the cardboard I was heating them on! They would curl and stick onto themselves, and try as I might I just could not get them to stop. I used my heat gun and the interwebz has given me a mixed review as to whether or not that’s the best way, so I’ll be trying them out in the oven and praying to the craft gods for better results.
I’ll be putting in a couple of prayers to the craft gods actually, another being to make this hat I’m knitting cooperate. I have never had such crappy luck with a hat in my life, especially not a simple stockinette beret. First, I measured wrong and bound off too soon, making it big enough for… no one, ever. It might’ve worked for a toddler with an unnaturally fat and short head. So it went in time out for a few days before I had the nerve to pick out the bind off and rip out the decreases to add more length. That was a pretty stressful process, picking up all those teeny stitches, but I got through it and knit on. This weekend I finally got it to the length it needed to be and started my decreases again. I switched to DPNs when I thought it was getting too small for my circ. As it turned out… not too small for my circ, so some of my stitches fell off the ends of my double points. I might’ve fixed it right then, but it was late and dark so that hat is back in time out for now.
California was beautiful, and I’m sorry I haven’t had the chance to write more about the experience. I will tell you that the weather was gorgeous, every single meal I ate was INCREDIBLE, and I even found some crafting supplies when I went thrifting. I ate fish tacos two days in a row, basked out in the sun, and got to hang out with a very dear friend of mine and her cats. She’s been kind enough to help me with my social media for Charming Lil Trinkets so long as I provide her with handmade items, which I am more than happy to do. Her and I are both all about the hippie barter system, and she knows exactly what its like to start a business from nothing. I’ve watched her grow herself and her business, and I couldn’t be more proud of her.
Alright, that’s enough mush. I’m coming up to my stop anyway (it seems I only have time to write while I’m in transit). Until next time, stay crafty!

~ by charmingliltrinkets on April 3, 2012.

Share your input

 
