Lollipop shawls, tag decorating and delicious summer yummies!

It’s my day off and I have a bunch of crafting projects I could be working on… and I can’t sit still long enough to focus on any of them. I have a ton of just totally random thoughts, so I thought now would be the perfect time for a blog post. Let’s see how this goes, shall we?

I don’t generally bake using a boxed mix, I’m a fan of from scratch goodies because I think they taste better and I like knowing exactly what’s in my food. However, if they’re on sale and/or I have a coupon, I will sometimes pick up a few boxes and stash them in the pantry for times that baked goods are necessary for some reason or another. My boyfriend very lovingly demanded that I make one of the mixes today, as he was tired of seeing the delicious photo. It was teasing him. It was a CRAZY mix of cookie dough and brownie mix, where you put the brownies on the bottom and then cookie dough on the top… ridiculously decadent stuff that is utterly unhealthy and equally delicious. I’m sad to admit that the brownies came out way better than the brownies I tried to make. I like really dense, chewy brownies and it seems that every recipe I try I end up with cakey brownies. If I wanted chocolate cake, that’s what I would have made. Damnit. How do you like your brownies?

Speaking of food, I’ve been eating like it’s the middle of summer for the past week or so. A lot of watermelon flavored italian ices and mac and cheese and burgers, washing it down with plenty of (artificially sweetened) iced tea. I even went so far as to buy myself fried chicken today. It was on sale and the deli at my grocery store made a ton so the whole back corner of the store just reeked of fried chicken. I couldn’t help myself, I’m only human. Human and with a terrible diet, you’re welcome to cringe. Now all this talk of food is making me hungry…

I did do my first tag for Twelve Tags in 2012. I cut tags myself using my Cricut, and later on found a tutorial for using manila folders to make the tags that are more similar to the ones you find in stores. I might do a similar one using a different tag, but I’m happy with how it came out. I look forward to doing a simple challenge over a spread out time line. I’ve tried to participate in KAL’s (or knitalongs) before but both my schedule and attention span are so ever-changing that I couldn’t keep up. I think I can handle one tag a month. Mine deviated from Tim Holtz’s greatly, but you can see some of his techniques and aesthetic (which happens to coincide with my personal taste) in it. I really love the idea of using ink for color. It’s simple and it has a beautiful effect, along with being difficult to mess up. Very seldom do I mess up a card or piece of paper in my inking process, but I’m really good at messing up a project by not getting anything straight. I even went so far as to get myself a nice ruler, and I still can’t seem to put letters or decorations or really anything for that matter in a straight freakin’ line. It’s a straight line. How hard does it need to be? Whew, sorry.. I got a bit upset there for a minute. I’m fine now. Anyway, here’s my tag:

Please pardon the stained up cutting mat underneath it. It gets cleaned every now and again, I just didn’t do so before I took the shot. I’m not the hugest fan of cleaning LOL

I’ve been working on my Citron shawl as well. It’s almost complete!! I can’t even believe it. I thought when I put it down I was finishing up the third section out of five, as it turns out I was finishing the fourth. It’s looking absolutely gorgeous, I hope I can get it done before my trip to Long Beach. I also want to get a pair of socks or two cast on for my trip, so I have new cozy socks to warm my feet for the chilly nights.

It’s knit out of Chroma fingering in Lollipop. It’s soft and squishy and so yummy. Also, it’s my first shawl. It will definitely not be my last.

I think that’s about it for now. Until next time, stay crafty! =)

~ by charmingliltrinkets on February 27, 2012.

2 Responses to “Lollipop shawls, tag decorating and delicious summer yummies!”

  1. Your tags are beautiful! Love that heart with the tiny holes cut out along the edge.

    Your shawl if beyond beautiful! I’m jealous!! Your stitches are so even I love the pattern you are making. Enjoy wearing this beautiful item.

    Leslie

    • Thank you!! Knitting is my original passion. I didn’t get into other crafts again until recently, once I picked up those needles I didn’t put them down for almost two years! I’m also glad that for my first shawl pattern I picked a simple piece, not something with a ton of complicated lace. I will tackle that some day though =)

Share your input

 
